Attributi

February 29, 2008

While flicking through the newspaper, my eye was caught by an article entitled ‘Groin turns into no-go area for luckless Italians’. This relayed the news that “Italy’s highest appeals court has ruled it is a criminal offence for Italian men to touch their genitals in public.”

Well, nobody likes a fiddler, but this seems a little harsh. Especially as “a quick grab” is apparently a traditional Italian superstition to ward off bad luck when a hearse drives past or someone mentions a terrible illness. (I’m sure there’s a “touch wood” joke in there somewhere…)

But the times they are a-changin’. The court ruled that the old tradition “has to be regarded as contrary to public decency, a concept including that nexus of socio-ethical rules requiring everyone to abstain from conduct potentially offensive to collectively held feelings of decorum.” (I suspect it sounded a lot better before the translation.)

The thing that really caught my eye, though, was the Italian expression for a man’s dangly bits: “attributi”. I love it. I don’t know if this is a serious term or if it’s used with the same sort of humour as the British “crown jewels”, but henceforth I intend to refer to my meat and veg, on the rare occasions that I have cause to mention them, as “my attributes”.

One Response to “Attributi”

  1. Monty Says:

    Attributi is a cool word for ‘the boys’! 🙂


Leave a Reply

