Eating out

January 1, 2009

While the pages of Wordage have remained shamefully neglected in recent months, I did manage to cobble together a few words for some good old-fashioned paper pages. This was for issue 01 of Gym Class, “the zine for the guy chosen last”.

In an article titled ‘Eating out’, I describe some of the more memorable restaurant meals I’ve had in my life. 

In retrospect, I can see I ripped off / was inspired by Nigel Slater’s excellent book Toast, in which he examines his past (and developing sexuality) through describing the food he ate. He did it far more evocatively than I ever could, of course.

But how did I get the writing gig in the first place? Well, in time-honoured tradition, sleeping with the editor probably helped. Not to mention marrying him.

If you want to check out Gym Class, you can get hold of a copy here.

Happy New Year, y’allz.

One Response to “Eating out”

  1. evolkween Says:

    Happy new year bitches! 🙂


Leave a Reply

