A fortunate homosexual man

March 30, 2010

I actually found Ricky Martin’s coming out article quite moving. Despite going over the top here and there (“…the blood that runs through the streets of countries at war” took me a bit by surprise), the things he talks about are familiar to many of us. The years of keeping a secret (“Many people told me: ‘Ricky, it’s not important'”). The journey to self-belief (“acceptance has to come from within”). The decision to tell everyone (“Enough is enough. This has to change”). The strength (“But fear of my truth? Not at all”) and joy (“The word happiness takes on a new meaning for me as of today”) that flow from that decision – and flow right through his words. And in his case, there’s the extra motive of doing it for his “two beautiful boys that are so full of light and who with their outlook teach me new things each day”.

“I am proud to say that I am a fortunate homosexual man,” he concludes. “I am very blessed to be who I am.”

And you can’t argue with that.

Leave a Reply

